Daisy Jones & The Six

I can’t believe this is my first post of the year!  It’s been a busy few months but I didn’t realize how quickly time was flying.  While I’ve been quiet here, I have been reading lots and I’m ahead of my reading goal (total number of books, not to blog ‘lots’).  And many of the books I read were great so here it goes and I promise not to be so quiet!  Onto Daisy Jones & The Six

This book rocks so much!  I enjoyed it so much that I read it in one day – not quite in one sitting as I did get up a do a few other things – but I couldn’t put it down.  It was such a fun and compelling story.  I just wanted to know what happened to Daisy Jones and to The Six.

I think I enjoyed this book for a few different reasons but let me tell you a little about it first – Daisy Jones is a beautiful, young woman living life on the Strip in LA in the seventies – very sex, drugs and rock ‘n’ roll.  The Six are an up and coming band from Pittsburgh, transplanted to LA when they are recognized for their immense talent as a rock band.  The novel is a fictional story of how The Six and Daisy Jones crossed paths and became legendary.  It was thrilling and fun!

So the reasons:

  1. I love music, almost as much as I love books, and I love to learn about fascinating back-stories – bands, artists, songwriters – anyone with a fascinating story. I love Almost Famous (Daisy Jones & The Six reminded me a little bit of the movie which was reaffirmed during a recent re-watch) and I dig watching rock DVD’s of concerts from the 70’s or collections of artists from the 70’s a bit later in life.  This was so up my alley.
  2. I loved how the story was told – as though members of the band, producers, managers, friends and family and of course, Daisy, are telling the story of Daisy Jones and The Six to someone who wants to catalogue their legendary story.The “who” that wants to tell their story gets revealed by the end but I didn’t really think about who it was throughout.  Bits of the story change as the story weaves between characters – made sense, no two people experience the same thing in the same way.  This format seemed so fresh and I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction!
  3. I love a good, fun story. I hope you’ve realized by now that I read across all sorts of genres and different authors, voices, characters and every now and then, I need a fully indulgent fun read and this was definitely one of those for me.

I highly recommended this book to two people within 24 hours of finishing it and I’ve continued to do that.  I’ll lend it to a couple trusted peeps in my life but I have no doubt that I’ll read this one again when I’m looking for something fun!  Perhaps on the dock this summer as I’m already thinking about a re-read.

Further cred for the book – it was Reese Witherspoon’s March Book Club pick and Amazon optioned it for a 13 episode miniseries produced by Amazon Studios and Hello Sunshine.  I cannot wait for this one!

Rock On!

K

Leave a comment